In many modern societies , grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandchildren. What do you think are the consequences of this ?

As the generations change, families become more distant, making a gap between children and their grandparents. What is the impact that this change might have? First of all, kids nowadays are more addicted to the social media world making them more isolated and less sociable, and therefore spending very minimal time visiting and enjoying the quality presence of their families and especially their grandparents. Not only do kids lose their emotional bond, but they also give up on their cultural identity as they grow up. Having a close relationship with one's grandparents makes the person fulfilled with love and kindness, developing memories they might keep throughout their lifetime. Moreover, the family's history and customs can only be preserved through exchanges between the children and their grandparents. Secondly, this gap does not only impact the younger generations but also the old ones. A lot of studies proved that the elderly are more prone to developing mental health issues such as depression due to the excess of unoccupied and alone time. That is the reason why it is crucial that families make time and effort to help stay bonded as it proves that they are still worthy of being visited and loved. Overall, the younger generation should be thought the importance of family bonds from an early age to keep the relationship with their grandparents alive.