In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose higher taxes on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In our comperorary society, people live a fast-paced lifestyle and eat too much fast food, as it is cheaper than healthy meals and can be prepared just in 5 minutes. Consequently, people are suffering from health issues, that mainly develop because of unhealthy food consumerism. Thus, I agree, that the government should enforce higher prices for the fast food industry. In this essay, I will provide my arguments for why I support that idea. First of all, higher taxes for fast food will lessen the number of clients who choose this kind of food because of its price. It is likely, that those people will find healthier alternatives even cheaper. Moreover, the higher cost of fast food will encourage citizens to prepare food at home in advance and save money and time, as well. For instance, instead of searching where to eat for a moderate price with good quality food, a person can have his own lunch box and therefore save some time for other to-do list activities. Secondly, making higher prices for fast food will be seen as a relevant action plan in order to save citizens' health. Thus, people will notice that the government cares about humans and not only talk about ways of reducing health issues but actually do so. For example, in my country people are complaining about the government, because it's not doing anything tangible, just making action steps, which never come to reality. Therefore, the increase in fast food prices will not only reduce health issues but will make people feel satisfied with the government, because of the feeling that the executive board cares. To summarize, in order to lessen the health problems among people, I believe it is a good practice to increase the price of fast food. People will buy less and probably choose healthier options, as well as will feel thankful for the government for making this decision.