Housing shortages in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the increasing population has caused trouble in purchasing lands. On the one hand, the society argues the fact that authorities should make remedy actions to fix an issue of inadequate residences. However, on other hand, people themselves should solve this issue. I partially agree with the given statement, and I will provide the substantiate argument in upcoming paragraphs. To commence, the government should restrict the allocation of land. To put it another way, government should apply more taxes to real estate so that they limit the making of houses. Moreover, a focus on vertical housing would help to resolve the issue of even distribution of homes. As an illustration, the apartments, and townhouses in developed cities like Singapore, are made in a vertical manner in limited areas. Furthermore, authorities should apply more taxes to bungalows and large houses. Therefore, people would purchase less of them. As an example, the Canadian government restrict the purchase of houses for two years to resolve the issue of housing shortage. On a contrary, people could also solve this issue by themselves. To simplify, they should prefer living in villages and outskirts of towns instead of living in bigger cities. People can find more job opportunities like farming in villages to earn a livelihood. This would help in bringing more employment in the country and in this manner, society could also develop the villages. The fresh air of villages would also make people more healthy and less stressed. Therefore, it would reduce crimes in society. To conclude, although people move to metropolitan cities in search of better opportunities, they still face residential issues. Therefore, it is the responsibility of both government and people to resolve the issue by encouraging people to live in vertical housing and villages.