In many countries it is very easy to apply for and be given credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debts they can't pay back. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In most geographical regions, folks request and use bank cards and are debited regularly. Although it has helped in enhancing convenience and reducing the workload of bank staff, it increases criminal activities and poor budgeting for the users. This essay will elaborate on the above-listed points and proffer my opinion as to why the demerits of this development outweigh its benefits. To begin with, one of the significant merits is convenience. Users of these cards make transactions for any purchase without visiting the bank. To illustrate, statistics have shown that 90% of travellers do not commute with much cash since they can withdraw or pay for any product they purchase with their credit cards. In addition, it reduces the workload of bankers, most bank users with debit cards do not visit the bank to withdraw directly from their account, therefore, it reduces the number of customers they attend to on a daily basis so they experience little stress at work. Consequently, the major deficit includes ameliorating the rate of criminal activities and lack of proper budgeting. When the card is stolen or misplaced, hackers use it to steal from the owner by leveraging the details written on the card to gain access to the account through the internet. Furthermore, card users spend extravagantly because they are not restricted from making transactions, they tend to buy any attractive dress, shoes and hair extensions without putting their account balance into consideration. To illustrate, an interview on famous blog websites, explained that the large number of people spend things they do not need through card transactions. Conclusively, in spite of its importance in saving time and reducing stress for bankers, its drawbacks in increasing crimes and overspending can not be neglected.