In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and there is no sense of community anymore. Discuss the causes and suggest measures that might deal with this situation.

The nature of modern life has turned most city dwellers into strangers. People are not likely to socialize and know each other as before. This phenomenon is occurring due to several causes as will be discussed in the following paragraphs, besides some implications to overcome this issue from my point of view. One of the reasons why neighbours do not know each other nowadays, is firstly the lifestyle itself. We are all struggling with fast-paced days, since everyone has a lot on their plate to finish. Even though technology has facilitated our life to some extent, we are still seeking higher steps toward our dreams and ambitions, especially in a challenging and competitive job market. Secondly, city residents usually live in apartments with separated closed doors, where everyone is stuck inside their own bubble. There are no front yards or common gardens where faces can meet, smile, and exchange a few words. As a result, communication barely exists. A possible solution to this problem would be, that citizens - living in one area- can use social media platforms to know each other and get along. For example, People living in one residency can have a dedicated Facebook page, or a What-ap group in order to chat about their common issues. Additionally, compared to suburbs, not many activities and events are held in the cities. In this regard, city councils need to organize more events and encourage individuals sharing the same place to participate. Mentioned occasions can, also, start with things such as, discussing the locals’ problems or challenges. Hence, the community gets united. In conclusion, some possible reasons for the lack of sociality among citizens, could be due to the hectic lifestyle, or the city structure. However, people are able to change this if they have the will. Either by using technology aids, or by taking place in social events.