Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

We live in an age where the development of technology has altered nearly all aspects of our life, including entertainment. Consequently, this trend also creates a heated debate regarding whether it is negative for children to watch TV or watching TV is actually advantageous for them. The aim of this paragraph is to explore both views and explain as to why I support the later one. On the one hand, there are several reasons why so many people argue that TV is unsuitable for their children. Firstly, an alarming high amount of time watching the television may negatively affect their health. In fact, it is evident that staring too much into the television ’s screen can greatly weaken children ’s eyesight, resulting in many cases where it is necessary for children to wear glasses in order to see clearly. Additionally, it can not be ignored that various shows and programs on TV can be a bad influence on children. Unsurprisingly, there are a number of series being aired on television that contain mature contents, including violence, addictive substances, or crime activities. Due to the fact that the mindset of children has not developed enough to have a mature view on these subjects, they may have an inappropriate opinion on those matters, which could be detrimental to their morality and discipline. On the other hand, if parents can cleverly utilize the use of televisions, it can be extremely favorable for their children. First of all, the knowledge on various fields that children can gain from watching television is essentially limitless. For instance, there exists a TV channel called the Discovery Channel that provides educational programs focused around various subjects, such as science, history or wildlife. Furthermore, the amusement and pleasure that children can gain from watching the telly are undoubtedly worthwhile. In fact, there are an abundance of shows and programs that can give children an incredibly delightful and enjoyable experience. Consequently, this will positively contribute to children ’s mental health, allowing them to be more cheerful and happy. In conclusion, although there are indeed many drawbacks to children watching television, it is my belief that the advantages still outweigh it.