Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think they should focus on academic study only. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a belief that universities should aim exclusively at academic courses, while others convict that tertiary education should focus on vocational skills with reference to employment. From my perspective, both views can be considered justified – it is oversimplified to venerate either opinion over the other. The truth that universities conduct research and provide education based on it can benefit the whole society and individuals. First of all, the original and fundamental purpose of establishing universities is to provide perfect places for academic study. As we all know, various scientific achievements and innovations come from the campus play a significant part in promoting social progress. For example, the computers, which were invented in universities, firstly were applied to scientific calculation and then changed the lifestyle of human beings. On the other hand, education in colleges can teach young people to think about certain problems in a rational and logical way, which can contribute to great success in their future careers and study. Although it is vitally important for educational institutions to concentrate on academic study, for the majority of the students, it is more practical to find a better job after they finish their education on campus. Firstly, due to the increasingly fierce competition in the employment market, it is extremely hard for people who have less educational experience to get decent jobs and opportunities for promotion. Furthermore, many professional fields, such as doctors and architects, require employees to gain certain skills and knowledge before they start their careers. From what has been discussed above, it is my conclusion therefore, universities should be a multi-functional institute which provides students with both academic and vocational knowledge. In conclusion, engaging in academic study and providing professional skills are equally essential roles played by universities.