Some people think lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think that alternatives to prison are more suitable, especially for minor offences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Anyone who breaks the law should be punished. Some people consider lawbreakers must serve their time in prison, while others maintain that alternatives measures are more suitable for those who commit commute commited minor offences. Personally, I think that the punishment should be dependent on the crime. Murders or who commited robbery should face life sentence. Teenagers with juvenile deliquency can do community service instead of going to prison. To begin with, in order to maintain the justice and protect innocent people, all lawbreakers should get punished. Especially for those who murdered or raped other people, they must be sent to the prison. They caused huge theats threat to the society, and should face life sentence. Considering the severity of crime, alternatives to prison are not suitable. They might hurt other people if they are not locked down in the prison. On the other hand, alternative penalties should be adequate for those who had minor offences. For example, reckless drivers who overspeed in the highway can do community service instead of going to jail. Underaged teenagers who break the law to try alcohol can serve in the volunteer work. Sentence in prison will make teenagers misbehave as they learn bad habits from their inmates who commited major crimes. The negative effects will outweigh the positive effects for these teenagers. Moreover, the prisons will be overcrowded if every one who breaks the law is sent to the prison. It would be a waster of taxpayers’ money. In conclusion, I disagree that all the lawbreakers should be face sentence in the prison. The punishment should be decided case by case. Community service and other alternatives are suitable for those with only minor crime.