In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, study patterns are being changed fastly for students and they are encouraged to work and travel after finishing high school, which is generally accepted as a good practice; however, some people believe it is detrimental to their health and study. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide how this new trend is benefiting the youngsters. The most significant reason, folk propose against it can be time wasting aspect as they think that by doing so students waste their entire year which could be used in the study. Moreover, they present this drawback that it is detrimental for their childhood as at this age they should play rather than do job and travel. For instance, in the state of California, parents do not allow their children to work unless they have finished their university education. However, many people favour this idea and in their view, this is very crucial for the personality building of students. In addition to this, they think that travelling helps them to see different cultures and they can make new contacts which can help them in long run. Furthermore, they advocate this view because they think kids learn the value of money by working and can become self-dependent. Along with this, they also learn the skill of time management. If we see the example of Europe young community there is allowed to work and travel all across Europe even during university breaks, which in my perspective is a good trend setting. In short, people believe that children can be independent and have sound personalities in this way. Keeping all the aspects in view, it can be concluded that travelling and working before starting university education can teach youngsters a lot of new skills and benefit them in many ways. Although a big portion of the population does not agree with this view, I am convinced that it can be effective and life-changing for them.