With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

With the advancement in social media, there is an increase in the number of young people having access to the internet with no adult supervision. This may lead to the possibility of dangerous situations occurring. In this essay, I will be presenting solutions to deal with this problem. Firstly, children should not be allowed to have a phone at such a young age. Parents should observe their children and decide when they are mature enough to obtain a mobile device. The absence of a mobile device eliminates the prospect of children putting themselves in dangerous situations with the use of social media. However, if children do own a phone, parents should set restrictions on certain internet access and monitor their children's device activity to ensure that they are not participating in harmful activities. In addition, parents could install location-tracking apps on their child’s devices so that they are always aware of their children ’s whereabouts. This reduces the likelihood of children going to locations that parents may disagree with. Moreover, the establishment of a good parent-child relationship is crucial to ensuring the safety of children. With a good relationship, children are more likely to inform their parents of their plans and location which ensures that children are safe. In conclusion, to prevent dangerous situations from occurring, parents could delay the purchase of a mobile device for their child. If children already own a phone, parents could control the activity on their child’s phone, reducing the potential for dangerous situations to happen.