Most artist earn lower salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree ?

There has been a controversy about whether artists should receive funding from the government to continue their work. I don't agree with this standpoint, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, we need to learn to take the consequence of the decision. It's expected that except for the top-notch artists, normal artists earn a quite low salary. However, there are still hundreds and thousands of men who set their dream job as an artist because it's their dream, even though their career prospects will be less rosy. Take art schools as an example. There are hundreds and thousands of Chinese students vie with one another to get a place at a top art college. At this point, we all know that it's arduous to earn money as an artist; nevertheless, students' dreams of becoming an artist have not been discouraged. Therefore, we have to be responsible for our own decisions, and the government shouldn't interfere. Second, the government's funding can be detrimental to this job. It's commonplace that there are always people who want to gain without doing any work. Hence, if the government decides to aid the artists across the country; it's bound to happen that countless people pretend to be artists and take the supply. As a consequence, the reputation of the artist is dampened; people start to think artists are just a group of lazy people who rely on the government's aid to survive. On the other hand, the government's funding is advantageous at some point. Take Van Gogh as an example. He is only famous after he died when he was alive no one cherished and loved his artworks. In this case, had he received some help from others, he could have made more contributions to our art world. In conclusion, I believe it's better not to aid the artists.