Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, more people who have health issues tend to take alternative medicines and treatments than come and meet their usual doctor. Although it is thought to provide many merits, there are still some demerits that are concerning. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of this perspective. It is good for the public to avoid visiting their usual doctor because not all patients can get over their illness just by advice from the doctor. Initially, it is time-saving, also money-saving because people do not have to wait a long period in queues just to get to the public hospital. Maybe other private clinics will provide faster services, however, people must pay more money for excessive fees such as taxes. Moving on, there are some illnesses that a normal doctor cannot help with like stress since they do not know about specific matters which leads to the problems being unable to solve. To suffer from those illnesses, people will prefer painkillers. Nevertheless, there are several advantages to trying alternative medicines and treatments, people still need to be careful when they take something into their bodies. Firstly, some serious illnesses such as heart attack and diabetes which require people to visit doctors to get over. Due to inefficient alternative medicines, people's health will get worse. Moreover, they might take some unknown pills that are not approved by the government, and by that lack of knowledge, their sickness might spread faster and sometimes can make them die more easily. In conclusion, I personally think that the way people try alternative medicines is not a good way of solving their sickness. Despite trying them, people should visit their usual doctor even if the sickness is not serious.