Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art is thought by some to be a meaningful activity, while others argue it only distracts from reality without any real value, yet giving lust not to work. Nevertheless, aesthetics is crucial for humans as a distinction from animals. I find both of these views compatible, therefore in this essay I will try to discuss it. To begin with, art gives purpose for our lives, since visual art is crucial for aesthetics. Furthermore, aesthetics is vital for the humankind. To take for example, buildings of Gaudi in Barcelona are not only apartaments, but pieces of art as well. On the other hand, despite the fact that one could live in a grey dormitory, the person would tend to feel worthless, because the surroundings in this case don't give any meaning or joy for life. Moreover, art is what distincts us from animals, because no other kind is know to do something aesthetically appealing if the value is only immaterial. On the other hand, art distracts people from reality, as a result of not giving any real value. It can be explained by the fact that capitalistic system values material worth, whereas art is valued only on aesthetical grounds. Besides, artists don't create any value for society's economical wellness, thus members of proletariat have to work for them as well. Notwithstanding, workers might start to want to be artists or enjoy aesthetics themselves, hence lowering the labor productivity that results in worse economical situation. French philopher Camus once said that we do and consume art as not to kill ourselves. I agree with such a statement, noting that art distracts us from the harsh reality and gives an illusion of meaningful life. Yet if it helps, who am I to argue against? To conclude, art creates aesthetically appealing surroundings, making people feel that their lives are meaningul, as well as distincting distinction the humankind from other species. At the same time art doesn't create any material value, yet conversely, it lowers productivity. While I agree with all of these statements, I tend to believe that art is needful especially as a distraction from everyday lives.