Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Examining the former opinion, the primary arguments the supporters would put forward is the decline in the crime rate. This is because criminals will apparently face the result of their illegal activities when they are put behind bars, so this approach can cause reduce the huge number of crime waves. These days, there are constant stories about having a positive impact of prison on the culprits’ awareness. As a result, they believe that the punishment such as imprisonment may lead the law breakers to reflect on their bad deeds. On the contrary, those in favor of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that the offenders who are involved in the rehabilitation can change their life after the imprisonment due to the constructive effects of rehabilitation program. Provided that the criminals engage in the rehabilitation effectively, they will seemingly learn how to live by the effective training. To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against the main purpose of imprisonment. However, I certainly favor the former opinion because of the decline in crime rate in the society.