Some people think that hosting an international sporting events is beneficial for a country while others disagree. Do the advantages of hosting a major sporting events outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a certain school of thought who have the notion that, holding a nationwide tournament is of more benefit to the country while others do not agree. This essay shall argue that, despite not supporting the idea of having a tournament, the benefits far exceed the drawbacks. Afterwards, a suitable conclusion shall be drawn. Firstly, employment is one of the many reasons individuals agree to holding a tournament. This is because, during this period people from all over the world come into the host nation and as such, more hands would be needed to provide various services to make them comfortable. As a result more people are engaged decreasing the unemployment rate. More so, it would serve as a means of generating income for the country. As people go to the sport centers for any game, monies are collected. Others also use the opportunity to visit various tourist centers and ones they go they pay a token increasing the nations revenue. For example, it was announced by the sports minister that, about 60% of the youth between the ages of 20 to 30 were engaged during the 2015 World Cup held in Ghana. Thus, holding the tournament will help more people to get jobs and provide money for the country. Despite employment and income, having a nationwide tournament can not go without a challenge and one of them is increase crime rate. A key factor to this is that, with the influx of different group of people from various background, vices like stealing, abuse from arguments can arise. This cause lose of lives and items like watches, monies and gold necklaces. For instance, it has been reported that since the beginning of the AFCON games presently going on in Nigeria, about 5000 dollars worth of items have been stolen and 50 people hospitalized. Thus, a tournament can cause lives and properties to be lost. In conclusion, after examining the merits and demerits, it is seen that, the ups far outweigh the downs. I will therefore recommend that government should lobby for such events.