In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, transportation has undeniable uses and importance for any country, especially developed countries. Some people believe that governments should spend the most proportion of their budget to construct the infrastructures of high-speed railway lines for very fast intercity trains. However, others think that reconstructing and redevelopment of the existing public transportation system should be at the top of the government’s priority. In my opinion, the governments should spend money equally on both types of transport systems because everyone has their related applications for people. On the one hand, the construction of new railway lines as the main infrastructure for very fast trains between cities could be an enormous development in the transportation system for any government. High-speed trains make trips easier for travellers. In the other words, people who intercity travel can arrive faster at their destination, and, also experience a more comfortable journey because of the main features of high-speed trains, including high speed and no traffic congestion. Japan is an obvious sample of a country which developed this transport system. They construct intercity high-speed trains with over 400 km/h speed. So, it provides a convenient condition for travellers to travel faster and easier. Therefore, the governments allocate a lot of budgets to develop and construct this transport system. On the other hand, although the high-speed intercity system is an important part of the transport system, there are other types of public transportation, such as subways, streets, buses, and taxis, that have an essential role in people ’s life. Generally, people use public transportation for meeting their daily needs and do their routine schedules. For instance, they go to work by subways, go shopping by taking a taxi, or go to school or university by bus. So, improving the public transportation system should have a high priority for the governments, and enough budget should spend on its reconstruction and redevelopment. In conclusion, railway lines for high-speed trains are one part of the public transportation system in every country. Therefore, governments should allocate an equal budget to construct high-speed railway infrastructures and improve other public transportation elements because every one of them has its importance and specific applications in today’s life.