In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

With the development of society, there is a wide range of changes in the function of family structure and the roles of the family members. From my perspective, I believe such transformation can be seen as progress for the family. To begin with, modern families promote the concept of gender equality more than traditional families did in the past. Rather than becoming full-time homemakers, women now have better chances for their careers and they are autonomous in terms of finance. Both men and women can become breadwinners, which releases the burden on the husband as the couple can both share the roles in financial contribution and maintain the stability of the family. As opposed to the notion that the wife has to fulfil her responsibilities in caring for the family members by doing all the household chores, the fair allocation of the housework in modern families constructs mutual sympathy between the couple, which reduces daily conflicts in married life and fosters family values. Furthermore, though extended families used to be extremely popular in the past, people now strongly favour the form of nuclear families. This happens because the young generations tend to live independently from their parents in order to gain a better career and they want to have fewer children due to their endless workload. That parents in nuclear families bear less financial pressure than their counterparts in extended families leads to a better financial status for their children. They are able to save sums of money for future investment, which can help them foster the children without worrying about their living conditions. Nuclear families also tend to have fewer conflicts as the family members have a stronger connection with each other. To sum up, it can be seen that there are huge differences in the family structure relating to the organization and the roles of the family members. I strongly believe that such changes not only bring no harm to family members but also help them feel a greater sense of appreciation for the family values.