In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The application of Artificial Intelligence (AI) has been thriving in different sectors like education and business. It is also predicted that it will be used in vehicles in the future. So, we may witness the vehicles without drivers after two or three decades. They may be several benefits and drawbacks of implementing vehicles that run without drivers; this essay will present them and reach a conclusive opinion. On the one hand, if every vehicle on the road operates without a driver, it benefits everyone as there is very low or even zero possibility of crash. All the programmed cars will maintain traffic discipline, resulting in road safety. For example, a recent study on AI-driven ‘ Tesla’ cars shows that none of these cars run away on red light, minimizing the chances of head-on collisions at the intersections. Another advantage of these vehicles is that they are time-efficient, meaning that everyone can reach their destinations well on time. With no problems on the road, it is likely that the public and private vehicles controlled by the artificial intelligence will not be delayed by the reasons other than waiting at the road intersections. On the other hand, driverless vehicles have a downside that they are expensive and not affordable by the majority of people. They are already 250% more expensive than the most expensive electrical car at the moment. Thus, implementing an all driverless transportation system will be challenging owing to its costs. To sum up, despite having the disadvantage of being outrageously expensive, I think the advantage of automatic vehicles being safer and more reliable than manually operated ones, cannot be overlooked.