Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. Do you agree or disagree?

Redistribution of land is proposed by some local authorities as a possible measure for the land shortage, especially in urban areas. According to them, land currently used for parks should be converted into residences. From my perspective, this is far from ideal since it could result in serious problems. First and foremost, parks, with plenty of trees, are perceived as green lungs of cities, which means that they play a vital role in air filtration and smog mitigation. Therefore, if they are turned into concrete building blocks, urban residents will have to suffer even heavier air pollution than currently. As a consequence, their health will be severely affected. In addition, parks are also the venues for various community activities such as public exercise, social gatherings, and outdoor sports. Thus, the destruction of parks in favour of accommodation will result in a lack of public places for people to entertain and socialize and their mental well-being is likely to be lowered. Moreover, although transforming parks into buildings can temporarily address the land scarcity, it cannot be a long-lasting solution. The reason is that more residential structures will attract more urban immigrants and thus make cities even more crowded. To a certain point, when the population exceeds the city’s maximum capacity, the infrastructure such as roads and sanitation systems will have to suffer from rapid degradation. It, as a result, poses a severe threat to the quality of life. For example, widespread flooding is usually seen in Hanoi, even when the rainfall is slightly higher than usual due to overloaded drainage systems caused by urban sprawl. In conclusion, reassigning land currently occupied by parks is only a short-term method, and the consequences of it will undoubtedly downgrade the living standard of urban dwellers, and in my opinion, it is not worth the trade-off. Therefore, city officials should look for permanent and sustainable resolutions instead.