some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to secure a good job. Others believe that employers value work experience more than a university degree. Discuss both views and give you opinion.

At some point in their lives, all people face the challenge of how to enter the labour market. They need to decide whether to study at a university or to gain hands-on experience. In my opinion, the decision genuinely depends on the type of job one desires. Although there is an unlimited choice of industry sectors to choose from, some industries require at least an undergraduate degree, in such employment specifications must be clearly stated in the job advertisement. For instance, job applicants for positions such as psychologists, doctors or architects must provide proof of their academic qualification from their higher education provider. The reason for this is that throughout the university course people gain particular skills and qualities that are necessary for these job roles. Thus, no amount of experience can be replaced by a Doctorate qualification from Medical School. Nonetheless, not all jobs are like that. Some industries appreciate work experience more than any degree. When I worked in hospitality, many supervisors and managers had only a secondary level education and were promoted to top positions as a result of their detailed understanding of how the company works. It can be assumed, that those knowledgeable individuals who worked for the business for many years had a clear advantage over those who were new graduates with no real-life experience in the field. In conclusion, there is no simple solution to getting the first job. On one hand, there are positions, where an academic qualification from a university is necessary, while hands-on experience may be invaluable in other jobs. Carrying out the research about dream work positions would be a great way to make the right choice.