university students are increasingly study abroad as part of their studies. do the advantages of studying abroad out weigh the disadvantages.

The idea of studying abroad can seem like a fabulous opportunity, but there are also plenty of potential challenges: practical, financial, and psychological. As a British person who has experienced other European countries and now lives in the USA, I can certainly testify that living away from your home country can be difficult at times. I wouldn’t wish to put anyone off, though, as experiencing other countries is usually rewarding and life-enriching. You can also pick up some practical skills too, such as learning a new language. Below are five advantages and four disadvantages of studying abroad. Life’s an adventure. Living abroad can be great fun, and it broadens your perspective on life—there are new friends to make, new experiences to have, and you’ll always have lots of stories to tell folks back home. You can learn another language, and immersing yourself in a place where they speak another tongue is the only good way to become fluent. Even if you are not studying that particular language in your study course, it may be useful later when you seek employment or in your personal life. You can explore another culture. They say that travel broadens the mind and finding out about other cultures can be fascinating. It can also give you insights and perspective on your home culture. You may have better study opportunities abroad than you do at home. You may be able to do a course that you couldn’t do in your home country or be able to study at a college or university that specializes in your chosen area of study. Mentioning that you have studied abroad can look very good to potential employers when it comes to applying for jobs. Living and studying abroad shows that you possess valuable workplace qualities such as independence, initiative, and resilience. It also shows that you are not afraid of a challenge and that you can be adaptable if the circumstances demand it. You may experience language problems if you are studying in a place where they speak a different language to your native one. Learning a new language can be tougher than you think, especially if you need to understand it thoroughly enough to complete an educational course that is conducted in it (plus, it can make the process of gaining new friends and social networking more difficult). You may well experience culture shock. Even if you have researched it extensively and think you know a country, you will find many things are very different when you live there. Some of the differences might be practical and obvious, but others might be more subtle—there are likely to be social and psychological differences in how people relate to each other and behave, for instance. You may find yourself feeling alone and without any of the social and emotional support from relatives and old friends that you might normally take for granted back in your home country. Making and developing friendships takes time and can be more difficult in a culture you are not used to. There are likely to be increased costs involved with studying abroad—both with the expense of your education and with everyday living. Language and cultural differences can sometimes make finding part-time work more difficult. Financial pressures can undermine your overall enjoyment of an experience if you are not careful.