To solve the problem of traffic congestion govt should provide free public transport 24*7. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In today's modern era, most of us live a fast-paced life as well as a tight working or studying schedule. On weekdays, especially during rush hours, the traffic jam on the road is very bad. Some people believe that if the government provide free transport could solve this problem in a significant way. As far as I'm concerned, I agree with the statement because there are plenty of advantages to the availability of free transport around the clock, although it might still have a few drawbacks. To begin with, it will reduce private vehicles on the street, and thus decrease greenhouse gas emissions and air pollution as well. By using public transport, not only can we slow down global warming to an extent, but also we can have a better quality of life and health with less pollution. Secondly, free transport can help people to save costs. From my own experience, commuting expenses a month account for 15% of my salary. Finally, it is much more efficient compared to cars, because a higher number of people can be carried in a means of mass transport than a private car. Nevertheless, this policy could have certain disadvantages. Simply speaking, people tend to take things for granted when they receive something for free. As a result, passengers may end up using mass transport with less care. Besides, since public transport is often crowded, the chance of infections with the disease will be generally higher. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, people who travelled by planes easily got infected and needed to be quarantined upon their arrival. In conclusion, I've summarized both pros and cons of this free-of-charge mass transport 24*7. In my perception, this could bring out more benefits to the citizens and the country's environment, too. Yet, proper rules and plans should be considered seriously in order to make this project successful, therefore, the government officials need to conduct a thorough study and make a solid design before implementing this programme.