Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, it would cause a high level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by some that carrying a gun by the police force is a threat to society as it increases violence between people. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement owing to the fact that police are required to be equipped with fighting tools to combat any violence in a society. Firstly, the police force is made by the government to keep the peace and harmony in a society. In order to do this, they need weapons to respond to any dangerous situation. If they are not backed by guns, it will be impossible to keep the governance under control owing to the fact that criminals already carry a gun. An incident reported in the New York Times, that on routine patrolling detective encountered robbers but were unable to fight back because they were not carrying their weapons and left the scene without any fight. Two lives were lost and many expensive items were robbed in that incident. Similarly, the weapon is also necessary for their self-defence and is part of their training. Their life is as precious as others and should not be lost carelessly. It is the right of every human to defend himself with all possible means. If the police were not equipped with the necessary weapons, they will never be able to show their full strength on the ground. Their motivation level shall always be low and perhaps no one would adopt the force as a profession. In conclusion, law enforcement should be trained in such a way that they know the price of human lives and also that weapons are only required to be run in defence and protection of precious lives. In this regard, regular training programs should be organised to keep their sanity.