Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prisoner sentence. Others think that there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion your opinion

Some people think that giving a longer prison sentence is the best way to reduce crimes while others believe that there are other alternative ways to do it. This essay will discuss both views but I disagree with the statement. To begin with, some people think that the best way to reduce crime is giving longer prison punishment which I don' t agree with at all because a person who is doing exactly knows he is going to get punished and still does the crime so increasing punishment might not make any change in the mindset. To cite an example, a person before murder knows exactly he is going to get punished for a long time but still does. Although, some small kinds of crimes can definitely decrease I don' t think it could reduce the crimes that much. On the other side, some people think there are other alternative ways to reduce the crimes in which governments can play a huge role by promoting harmony and a peaceful lifestyle and drafting laws accordingly along with improvising the education sector so that most people can get an education. However, having an educated population doesn' t totally ensure that there won' t be any crime but it will definitely reduce the crime rates by a huge margin. To sum up, there are a lot of alternative approaches which can be used to reduce crimes than increasing prison punishment and I think the government and higher authorities should take certain steps to lower the crimes.