Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically beneficial. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays many countries have imported food from places all around the world. However, some people claim that it is more beneficial, environmentally and economically, that customers purchase local food.In this essay, I will discuss why I partially believe that the benefits of eating local food outweighs its downsides. If customers are limited to buying food only from local suppliers, certainly some of them will be complaining about the inconveniences such as lacking food choices and failure to reduce immigrants’ homesickness. It is understandable that some people might think that if there is only local food on market shelves, they might have to change their previous eating habits and the food choice may be monotonous. In addition, immigrants who have relied on imported food to reduce their homesickness can no longer find the familiar flavor from their hometown. Nevertheless, there are also plenty of advantages when residents support local agriculture and eat mostly local food. To begin with, it is much more eco-friendly when the locals consume food grown and produced in their villages. By applying this action, a large amount of CO2 emission generated from long-distance transportation will be reduced considerably. Next, if the inhabitants mainly rely on the local supply, it will increase the income of local agriculture, which will encourage local farmers to provide better quality food at cheaper prices. In my opinion, even taking the main potential disadvantages resulting from the limitation of food choice into consideration, the benefits created by increasing local food consumption are much more significant. In conclusion, just like most practices in the world, the application of eating local food has its downsides and inconveniences. However, it is, without doubt, the significance of the effect resulting from eating local food such as being more friendly to the environment and improving the local economy can not be overemphasized. As far as I am concerned, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.