Some feel that school uniforms make schools safer for students, create a "level playing field" that reduces socioeconomic disparities and encourage children to focus on their studies rather than their clothes. Others say school uniforms infringe upon students' right to express their individuality, have no positive effect on behaviour and academic achievement. Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

The issue of dress codes in schools has been a debatable topic. While some argue that it makes schools safer, others believe it cringes on the human right to expression. In my opinion, the use of uniforms is paramount for easy tracking of students as well as reducing socioeconomic violence. On the one hand, it has been argued that uniforms worn among students help for easy identification. To clarify, it provides the students with some uniformity and allows for easy identification of intruders. For instance, a student on an excursion could easily be identified if they lost their way. Hence, they can be returned to their school if found wandering around. On the other hand, it is often claimed that dress coding limits the child's ability to make decisions. This is because children in their formative age are experimental and would love to decide what to wear. To illustrate, a dressing competition at a school in Lagos revealed that children could not make a meaningful decision on what to wear for different occasions. Thus, it has restricted their abilities in trying different options of dressing. In my own opinion, uniforms in school are necessary as they help to eliminate social violence. This is due to the fact that dressing further segregates the rich from the poor as a result, some students may begin to form social cliques that may bully others of lower social class. This may have a lasting negative impact on children. In conclusion, the use of uniforms in school is important and in my perspective, it allows for easy identification of students as well as reduces social violence.