In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In lots of societies, kids are educated that if they were hard-working enough, they would be able to reach their goals. This notion seems to bring benefits to children both for their presence and future. By contrast, the message can easily be troublesome if misunderstood. First of all, we could see that the lesson of trying hard to get what they desire is the simplest way to generate youngsters’ patience. It builds trust in children and encourages them to spend time and effort while working on every task. Kids’ beliefs also prevent them from giving up early and getting rid of their confusion before accepting new challenges. For example, before the successful invention of the light bulb, Thomas Edison had already made an estimate of 10000 failures. Another advantage is, that if the children believed the message as an encouragement, they could feel motivated and confident themselves. This improves minors’ resilience and keeps them positive while struggling with difficulty. The owner of the popular fast food restaurant KFC has to bring his recipe to restaurants around America, believing that he will be able to convince someone. He only succeeded at the age of 60, after receiving thousands of refusals. On the other hand, trying hard won’t be effective if we can’t determine our abilities. In fact, it will just harm us both physically and mentally. Non-stop practices will probably cause injuries to the athlete, which blocks his way to being a champion, or maybe forces him to give up on his career. In spite of wasting money, time, relationships, and health, it’s impossible to make an illusory dream come true as well. Many families have drowned in debts and are faced with poverty because of the delusion of being a billionaire through gambling and lottery. In conclusion, the message has its pros and cons, but how people avoid taking its risk is based on their understanding of their purposes and abilities. However, in my opinion, the advantages it brings outweigh its drawbacks.