The news media have become too much influence in people lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Different sources of news have helped people in knowing what is happening around the world but according to some people, knowing about everything could be disadvantageous and dangerous and can lead to some pitfalls. While others, including me, refute this claim. It is undeniable that mass media has brought enormous benefits to mankind. Starting with, it is through news media that people are being provided with an up to date information on different topics. For instance, it is due to the daily weather forecast being projected by the news channels that people know if they are required to take umbrellas or not. Besides, news media is the biggest source of communication which provides a platform for marketing companies to advertise their product and services to a wider audience, which in turn, helps in boosting their product sales, thereby, increasing the company’s revenue. According to a recent study, the businesses which use media as a source for promotion for their products have witnessed a boom in their sales by 10%. Therefore, mass media has likely been proven advantageous for businesses. On contrary, there are some negative influences brought by media. Sometimes the type of news being communicated to the receiving audience is not appropriate for all audiences and might convey depraved or bad messages. For example, in India, the consequence of sharing the rape incidents happening around the country by the top news channels has resulted in an increase in the number of rape cases. Furthermore, there are times when the news being communicated about some people is unrealistic or fake. This results in making them depressed or resulting in committing suicide. In conclusion, although there are some negative impacts of mass media on people with regards to the appropriateness of the audience to whom the news is being communicated, providing the latest information and being a source of the advertisement has made the news media cater toward more positive development in their field.