Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. DO you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present world, there is an ongoing debate regarding the patients ’ treatment. There are a huge number of individuals who suffer from health issues are endeavoring different medications and cures rather than going to the doctor. Although there are some benefits of alternative medicines and treatments, I would argue that there are far more drawbacks. The main advantage of different treatments is less time-consuming. This is because the sufferers do not need to spend their time on checking up by specialist in the clinic. On the contrary, patients can take herbal medicines to treat themselves without wasting time in the clinic. For example my gran mother was involved in a terrible headache, and she drank a herbal drinking instead of checking up by doctor, so patients can invest their time in other activities. In addition, the cost of specialist would be high. The reason why some patients prefer to rely on alternative treatments is this method may take less charge due to the fact that using alternative medication like herbal drugs can be affordable. Despite the positives mentioned above, I believe that alternative treatments are a negative development for various reasons. First of all, Alternative methods are not often reliable. It means that, therapists often have no any medical degree to treat the patients, hence it is highly likely that the sufferers face serious damage by incorrect diagnosis. For example, according to a survey conducted at Cambridge University shows that the rate of patients death who make an unconscious effort alternative medicines have been increasing than consulting the doctors. Provided that patients check up by the doctors, they will be more assured. As a consequence, going to the doctors can decrease patient’s tension because of scientific treatment rather than alternative treatments such as acupuncture. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible advantages of different treatments, I consider it to be a negative development overall.