Traffic jams are a problem for individuals to use roads freely in major cities. What problems does it have for individuals? How individuals can reduce traffic?

With the development of major cities, the problem of heavy traffic jams has become a significant issue that individuals come across daily. Although it may cause several challenges for people, including waste of time and money, they are not insurmountable and can be addressed accordingly. To begin with, traffic not only consumes a huge amount of time of individuals commuting frequently, also it is a total waste of money. In other words, people almost spend hours in traffic every day, while it could be possible to spend this amount of time productively. For example, considering people of my home country, Iranians almost spend two hours on average driving to work, the time that could be otherwise dedicated to either accomplishment of projects at work or relaxation to reenergize for further activities. As a result, heavy traffic jams may result in various predicaments for individuals in terms of time and budget. Turning to possible remedies, by using public transport instead of their private cars and avoiding unnecessary, individuals can well lessen the severity of deleterious effects of road traffic. The issue of heavy traffic on the roads can be dealt with if individuals practice using public transport like the subway as a superb substitute for their own car. More importantly, it is possible to reduce a significant portion of the daily needs of individuals to commute by using modern technologies, like video conferencing and online shopping. To conclude, although the issue of traffic jams is considered a challenging subject for individuals that threaten their time and money, it is not by no means insurmountable. Individuals can shoulder the responsibility and curb their unnecessary daily travels and use public transport.