It is difficult for people to get enough physical exercise in cities. What are the causes and solutions?

Despite the enormous benefits being served by cities, it is becoming challenging for city dwellers to get a reasonable amount of bodily exercise. Hectic work schedule and unapproachable and insufficiency of amusement facilities are the main causes attributed to the above-mentioned issue. Nevertheless, people by themselves and the government taking some initiatives will likely provide some solutions. There are many reasons why urban residents are unable to concentrate on their physical health. Primarily, the unavailability of sufficient recreational facilities plays a major role. A sudden boost in the global population, as found in a recent study, has compelled the governments to construct an increasing number of living apartments, thereby, resulting in the consumption of space previously allocated for relaxation. Furthermore, an increase in the cost of living has made people dwelling in cities work more than they used to in earlier times, hence, being left with no or limited time to involve themselves in some physical activities. However, as it is said that every cause comes with a solution, firstly, city people should start taking responsibility for their own physical health. For example, people working in offices should go for a brisk walk after their lunch or try to go upstairs using stairs instead of an elevator. Additionally, the government should focus on constructing gyms and parks nearer to corporate buildings so that people can utilise their spare time in a physically productive way. In conclusion, although, insufficient entertainment facilities and busy work schedules are the main factors contributing to the above-discussed issue, city people themselves and government can fulfil their responsibilities by eradicating this problem in a more fruitful way.