The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In recent times, an increasing number of people are concerned about the importance of using English globally, which is thought by some people to be advantageous for humans; however, others consider that it might be detrimental. Having one language enables us to have a connection in a community and mitigate the levels of pressure of learning languages. Nevertheless, there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of English being spoken globally is that individuals can understand whatever people want to convey to others, which is a dominant tool for communication purposes. For example, a speech given in English could be understood without interruptions. Therefore, utilizing English globally is one of the solutions to deal with language barriers. Secondly, it would help individuals alleviate the number of languages that people need to study. This means that everyone just needs to focus on English and they could be good at it in their own fields. Counter-intuitively, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. One weakness of having one language in the world, it is inevitable that most cultures would disappear. For instance, not any ancient documents are able to be translated into English, so it is difficult to research them. As a result, they would be eliminated gradually by humans. Another reason is that the aged cannot catch up with using English because they are used to utilizing their native language. In other words, English is common among young and middle age, not older people. In conclusion, there are plus points to having a common language. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of elimination of cultures and utilization of English for the elderly.