Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In some countries, it is believed that young people should take a gap year after finishing school and before the start of higher education. This trend would create certain benefits, but there will also be some drawbacks. In this essay, I would like to discuss both the merits and demerits of the phenomenon. On the other hand, there are some crowd who advocate taking a gap year. One argument in favour of this is that it can have a beneficial impact on young people’s personal development. This means that they are likely to become more mature when they are obliged to fulfil certain responsibilities at work. In addition, the young community can find their passion by working in a variety of fields and industries. This will enable them to make a good choice when it comes to choosing what subjects they should specialize in at university. Furthermore, they will also become more open-minded as they will learn to appreciate cultural diversity through travelling to foreign countries, where they will be exposed to different cultural and social norms. On the other hand, It is assumed that students could fall behind in their study if they take a gap year, which means that one of which is the possibility of losing interest in higher education as they might be tempted by the income they are earning from their jobs. If so, this can have a profound negative impact on their future prospects because for high school graduates, job options are limited and the kinds of jobs available to them are generally labour-intensive and basic. Moreover, being immature and naive, the young community might be influenced by bad people whom they come across while working or travelling so there is a chance that they might end up becoming drug addicts or law-breakers. Furthermore, they will be left behind in their study by their peers who will have already graduated when they will still be university students, making them feel inferior and unmotivated. Therefore, it is a sensible idea to pursue tertiary education right after finishing high school. In conclusion, although there are some dangers such as the possibility of affecting their future career, there are also positive effects since they can develop desirable qualities and find out their interests and talents by taking a gap year.