Many people argue that museums and art galleries should present the nations art as opposed to art works from other countries. To what extent do u agree or disagree?

There is a certain school of thought who have the notion that Museum and Art galleries ought to show the countries art in place of art works from other nations. This essay shall strongly endorse this statement as it will preserve our culture and help to generate income to the nation. Afterwards a meaningful conclusion shall be made. Firstly, preservation of culture is one of the enormous reasons people claim the Museum and art works of the nation should be showcased. This is because, the younger generation are not preview to most of the history of their country. Therefore when they visit these centres, they get to learn and understand how certain things came into being. For example, in the recent national tour to museums and arts galleries organised by the national council for schools in the Greater Accra to the Kumasi cultural centre revealed that, some students had not seen the golden stool which symbolises the power of the Asante kingdom and were told the history behind it. They also had the opportunity to see some of the Old guns used in the olden days as well as some smocks worn by chiefs in the pasts. Thus displaying our arts will go a long way to educate the next generation to understand how somethings came to existence and this will preserve our culture. Besides cultural preservation, generation of income as another factor worth considering. A key factor to this is that, other people who have heard of the nations famous arts and historical items in the Museum will be compelled to move from their country to see this beautiful galleries and as such provide the country with income. This will help the nation to develop and improve the economy. For instance, in an exclusive interview with the trade minister, he stated that about 1 billion dollars is generated from our five museums and art galleries. Thus showcasing our museum and art galleries will help the nation with funds which can be used in other sector where needed. In conclusion, museums and art centres have a role to play in preserving our culture and providing funds for the nation. I can say without any reservations that they should have a local and not a foreign one which will not benefit the people.