Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The rapid development of technology has made it possible for most workers to switch their careers to work as freelancers than to be employed in a company or other organization. And we will discuss the reasons for this trend and its possible disadvantages that will be faced by people as self-employed. More and more working individuals are getting attracted to work for themselves due to convenience reasons and also their income consideration. Self-employment offers benefits like flexible working hours, reducing the risk of tiredness on the way to the office which takes time, also tired of handling so many people in the office and of course, fast and high payment. Freelancers, depending on their skills and experience, can demand a particular fee per work from their clients. Moreover, due to the nature of their job, tasks can be done quickly and easily. This is one reason why some companies nowadays prefer hiring freelance workers. Although the benefits of this work seem to be promising, this type of work also has drawbacks. One is the uncertainty of work availability. Since many professionals prefer to work on their own, competition in finding possible work for getting more projects is getting increasingly tough. As a result, these individuals find it hard to have money or fixed income or get more revenue unlike those who are employed in a company. It is also important to note that freelancers have no fixed source of income so on the side of administration especially in Indonesia it is hard because we don’t have an invoice salary per month. These people also cannot avail of benefits that common company employees get like insurance, training, etc. And also one thing that should be noticed being self-employed or a freelancer is we can work for maybe 24 hours possibly when we handle many projects. To summarize, working individuals are free to choose whichever they want, whether to find work based on a project or get a client from a company. What matters most is that workers can understand the pros and cons of their chosen work style.