Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. Which solution is better?

Rapid urbanisation has been a global phenomenon for a long, and this has caused concern over housing expansion. Some cities have tackled this problem by constructing high-rise buildings whereas expanding the area for housing is what other cities adopt. This essay will discuss both perspectives on city development to evaluate which one is better. On the one hand, establishing taller buildings can bring about certain benefits in terms of the sustainable development of the city. To begin with, this practice can solve the problem of land scarcity which has been a conundrum for national authorities for over a decade. As more and more people are flocking to cities in search of job opportunities, the demand for land area required for housing is ever-increasing. Therefore, constructing vertical buildings emerges as an optimal remedy because they can accommodate a large number of people, yet not take up a too huge area. This can be exemplified by Manhattan in New york city where a multitude of tall apartments has been constructed to meet the demand for accommodations of its citizens. On the other hand, building housing on a wider area of land can certainly offer a few merits. The obvious one is that city dweller are provided with wider space which means that they can be able to relish better privacy and design their own houses in accordance with their preferences. However, expanding land for building houses can take a huge toll on the environment since this trend will significantly cut down on the numbers of trees in cities, which will lead to poor air pollution as trees help in the effort to absorb an enormous amount of carbon dioxide discharged from vehicles emissions. In conclusion, while both solutions prove their worth depends on the specific circumstances of different cities, creating housing areas by providing taller buildings is much better than wiping out trees to earn land for housing in terms of sustainable city development and the quality of the environment.