Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

Over the years, excessive usage of plastic is causing numerous problems around the world. I stand with the affirmation, and in this essay, I am going to discuss what are those issues and solutions that we can produce to minimize the damage that has been already done. To begin with, let us look at the problems which we can already see. One of the first causes of the overuse of these materials is, that they do not decay over time. For instance, a recent article published in a Sri Lankan newspaper revealed that they have found a polythene wrapper of a biscuit packet which was dumped in the Sri Pada area almost in the 1960s, still can be seen almost new except the sand covered all over it. In addition, to the decaying, another catastrophe that needs to consider is, that these substances are causing water pollution. There are a number of instances which have popped up in the international media stating various kinds of creatures just died because of having these artificial materials in their lungs as well as mouths. Thus, plastic is becoming a major threat to our lives, though it was developed to ease our lives. Secondly, let us look at the measures that we can against this damage. One of the immediate practical solutions would be, for governments taking steps to educate their citizens, in preventing inappropriate usage of polythene. For example, they can arrange seminars, and workshops and even they can do amendments to the school curriculum to urge society to work against the damage. Moreover, they can introduce alternatives which can be used ahead of the carbon-based substances. This will help to minimize the overusing issue. In a nutshell, excessive usage of plastic is causing a catastrophe than we expected, and currently, it is affecting our lives as well as the environment. However, to solve this problem we must take measures to educate the public while providing effective alternatives in order to protect our mother nature.