In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than giving gifts chosen personally. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or a negative development?

It is common that nowadays people prefer directly providing money rather than prepared presents on special days. There are social reasons for this trend, and in my opinion, this can cause many negative consequences. the main reason for this is because of the increasingly rapid pace of modern societies. As we all know, many citizens are under great stress and have to be engaged in their work and study all the time. As a result, these people are likely to have no sufficient time and energy to prepare gifts for special days, such as birthdays of their children, as well as wedding anniversaries. Another reason is that, in many societies, raising money has become the major purpose in certain situations. For example, many Chinese parents hold parts after their children get offers for higher education, in this way, they can get financial support from their friends and relatives for their further education. From my perspective, this development can cause many negative consequences. Firstly, rather than carefully preparing gifts, giving money results in people drawing themselves away from each other. they are no longer willing to spend time knowing what is the real requirements of their families and friends, at the same time they can rarely feel the care and attention from others. Secondly, many people consider offering money to their acquaintances on special days as a great burden, because it takes a quite large proportion of their salaries. Sometimes, in order to cover the cost, many people tend to find excuses to hold parties and get their money back. accordingly, this trend causes suspicions between colleagues and neighbours in many societies where people do not trust others. In conclusion, many social reasons are responsible for this development, and this can not be seen as a positive trend, because I believe nobody is glad to live in a society, where people only pay significant attention to money.