Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Surprisingly, many family prefer to stay in the neighbourhood where they were born for the rest of their lives. That spending most of the life living in the same area allows people to be familiar with the places and provides convenience; however, they need to trade off these advantages with the number of times spent on travelling and limited opportunities in career. One of the key advantages of spending most time living in the area adjacent to their birthplace is familiarity within the area which offers people to have a convenient lifestyle. Knowing all the key facilities – restaurants, markets, and pharmacies from their experiences allow people to easily decide which is the most preferable place to visit and which is the most time -saving route used to commute. Many recent studies found that the more time people spent residing in the same community, the more convenient and happy their life is. In addition, many elders were found to spend most of their life living in the same accommodation because they are afraid to be in an area which they are not familiar with. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to locating in home city. Firstly, it is undeniable that people need to change their frequent place of visit as they grow up and those places are inevitably far from their residence, resulting in more transportation time. To illustrate, one needs to spend over four hours per day for commuting to their workplace, since their home is far. Moreover, limited types of careers are offered in the town, resulting in less choice for people to get their career of interest. In other words, the job positions available in the countryside are far more less than the variety of job opportunities available in urban cities. To sum up, while choosing to live in a neighbourhood near their birthplace can offer a favourable lifestyle, people can lose time for transportation and job opportunities. With many factors to be considered, they should think wisely about their location of living.