In recent times, many people are making the decision to live alone. What are the causes of this? Does it have a positive or negative effects on the society

Nowadays, many individuals are resolving to live solitarily due to several reasons. This essay will discuss the causes for this trend as well as its adverse impact on the society. The major reasons for choosing a solitary life are for control, freedom, and independence. In other words, the liberty to soley decide and choose one’s life regardless of other’s opinion is the utmost desire of many. So, they rent their private apartment to enjoy the freedom of choosing their style of living, menu, decorations etc. Also, they want to be independent and shoulder their responsibility as this attribute will build their self-esteem and emotional balance. For example, a record reveals that 80% of the youth in Nigeria live by themselves immediately after college. Consequently, a solitude life has an adverse effect on the community. The reason is because it facilitates loneliness and social isolation. Because many are lonely and friendless, they indulge themselves in an unhealthy lifestyle like eating junks, excessive screen time and unhealthy relationships. For instance, a record shows that 80% of graduates in America are obese and 60% suffers heartbreaks In conclusion, a solitude life is good as it brings about a sense of freedom. Control and independence, but it is detrimental to the society because it causes loneliness and social isolation.