Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Numerous sports people advertise sports products. I believe the disadvantages of these actions outweigh the advantages because they can promote false expectations among their followers. On one hand, the advertisement of sports products can help companies boost their sales. With the Aid of a sportsman, it gets easy for brands to get a certain recognization which they might not be able to get otherwise. Take the example of Nike, ever since they started using NBA players for their shoe brand, their product sales have sky-rocketed. This gives brands an endorsement and they get financial benefits from this strategy. On the other hand, promoting sports products, can create a false sense of expectations among people. Followers start to believe that if they use a certain product advertised by their favourite sportsmen then they will be acepted by society. However, this mindset results in lower self-esteem among people as it is very hard to buy such expensive products. Brands like Puma and adidas also follow this strategy. They advertise their products among younger generation through the help of sports players. The youth blindly rushes to the store to pre-book such products and most of the time they got broke trying to buy such fancy things. In conclusion, even though it can greatly affect the sales of brands through advertisement by a sports player, i believe that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages that the popular sports person helps to boost brand sales