In some countries, fast food restaurant and supper markets give money to school to promote their products. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

ln the highly competitive era of today, marketers such as restaurants and supermarkets have realized the marketing opportunity offered by departments and so are giving money to academics. Even though the administrators of faculty are using that money to raise funds for hall activities, this is definitely disadvantageous for institute children. To begin with, adverts for fast foods and their availability on institution premises would help to develop children's taste for such foods. This can increase problems like obesity, which in turn is the root cause of many other health issues among children. As it is, children today have sedentary lifestyles, which makes it imperative that healthier food options should be made available to them. The welfare of students should be the top priority of the seminary and they should not fall on the bait of these companies for monetary benefits. Secondly, such commercial intrusions within the academic environment can promote consumerism. For instance, if a university promotes advertisements for any products like toys or computer games from supermarkets through educational materials, billboards or academy television, children would think that they have the approval of teachers and department authorities. Consequently, these vulnerable children pester their parents to buy those products, which can upset the family budget. This is a very vivid example of how the commercialization of halls can promote materialism in children. Supporters of such practices claim that the money such companies give for promoting their products inside the campus, helps the financially-strapped institutes to buy library books or improve sports facilities. They claim that children benefit from the additional resources and facilities that the department can afford due to such funding. What they fail to see is that commercial intrusions are already present in children's lives these days and there is no scope for more. To sum up, it is definitely a negative development to use universities to advertise their products as this may lead to unhealthy eating and a materialistic attitude in children