In recent times, many people are making the decision to live alone. What are the causes of this? Does it have a positive or negative effects on the society

Nowadays, many individuals are resolving to live solitarily due to several reasons. This essay will discuss the causes of this trend as well as its adverse impact on society. The major reasons for choosing a solitary life are; freedom, control, and independence. In other words, the liberty to solely decide and choose one’s life regardless of others' opinions is the utmost desire of many. So, they rent their private apartment to enjoy the freedom of choosing their style of living, menu, decorations etc. Also, they want to be independent and shoulder their responsibility as this attribute will build their self-esteem and emotional balance. For example, a record reveals that 80% of the youth in Nigeria live by themselves immediately after college. Consequently, solitary life has an adverse effect on the community. The reason is that it facilitates loneliness and social isolation. Because many are lonely and friendless, they indulge themselves in an unhealthy lifestyle like eating junk, excessive screen time and unhealthy relationships. For instance, a record shows that 80% of graduates in America are obese and 60% suffer heartbreak In conclusion, solitary life is good as it brings about a sense of freedom. Control and independence, but it is detrimental to society because it causes loneliness and social isolation.