These days, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

At present, rations have to journey a huge way afore reaching consumers. In this regard, a number of people argued that eating food grown in local areas would bring several benefits economically as well as environmentally. However, this trend has a number of positive impacts with some negative impacts. In contrast, if the community started to take locally generated foodstuff, it will advantage both farmers and consumers. For instance, it can meet up the need of the public as well as growers can improve their livelihood financially. Moreover, the food which comes from a far path, farmers have to preserve these with the use of a number of chemicals to keep them fresh. Thus, society doesn' t get fresh food. On the other hand, local food doesn' t need any preservation, consequently, people get proper nutrition by eating fresh food. For that reason, China has always tried to grow their own food in their own locations rather than exporting. Thus, they are one of the strongest economy holders in the world. However, taking only locally cultivated food can' t meet up the proper vitamins and nutrients of people, because every food doesn' t have every type of nutrients as different types of food consume different types of nutrients. Furthermore, if farmers want to harvest every type of grain, that would also not be possible because of the environment and soil. Proper crops need a proper environment and soil. In conclusion, everything has merits and demerits but nations should always focus on advantages rather than disadvantages.