Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Currently, the development of technologies and the economy at a staggering speed requires efficiency and productivity among many careers and disciplines. Someone works long hours and leaves very limited time for leisure. Personally, I admit the importance of enough time consumption for work. However, I incline to make a balance between life and work by allocating more spare time. The reason above can be further supported by several disadvantageous outcomes which make working long hours to be less beneficial. Initially, an intensive work schedule without sufficient time for rest or recreation largely takes our energy and concentration. For instance, people are easily getting tired of routine tasks and prone to get a higher rate of mistakes after the long-hour work. This counterproductive outcome is due to the very little time for rest. In addition, the allocation of overloaded working hours leads to substantially abridged time with family and friends. The limited chances with them may lead to conflicts along with a frustrated mood during subsequent work. By contrast, we get relaxed and satisfied by spending time with families and we will be motivated for the work the next day. Lastly, extra pressure and anxiety might be induced by reduced time for recreation and entertainment. Our nerve is strained if we work too long as our brain actively involved details of tasks. This condition increases the chance to get into a stressful and nervous stage which is not conducive for us. It is indeed that the cons are always attended by pros. Working long hours significantly promotes the progress of work to some extent and can largely benefit both individuals and groups. Admittedly, greater efforts lead to higher productivity. Nevertheless, it is worth thinking if the prolonged hours in the office do really transform into values during work. In real life situation, someone may put plenty of time while they finish tasks at low efficiency by distraction from other staff. Therefore, people need rest to recover from tasks. The good use of time is more important than the time has been used. To sum up. I do agree that any career requires great effort and enough time consumption While achievements were not defined by the number of hours sitting in front of the desk. We should leave ourselves a breath to take a good rest and get ready for the challenging tasks with high efficiency.