Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessments are possible?

In most countries around the globe, candidates' credibility is assessed on the basis of formal examinations at the end of each semester. These exams are required to judge the performance of a student in a semester. Other types such as assignment or project contributions are the other methods which can be used to judge a pupil's performance. Universities and schools around the globe mainly rely on the exams to examine the learning for several reasons. First of all, it is the most convenient way of judging someone participation and sincerity in a period of 4 month. For instance, it is much easy to judge the performance of pupil with a single set of papers rather than fooling around the whole term with a number of assignments and quizzes which can create so much work load on the professor. Secondly, it makes the student more worried about the studies, as he would be aware of impacts of the single mark sheet on his career. As a result, education institutes tend to take test only at the end of the term. There also further sort of examination approaches which can be considered such as project and assignments. Learning of candidate can be examined on regular basis by assessing their research on certain topics. For example, in higher studies assignments have a weightage of almost 20% of certain subject and can badly degrade the results, if these are not taken seriously. Moreover, term project can also take part in judgement of abilities and seriousness towards a field. To conclude, I firmly believe, in these times we should not rely on the traditional way of assessing the pupil’s credibility instead we rather make sure to common the projects and assignments in order to enhance the creativity of youth.