Many businesses in the world today are run by family members. Do the advantages of family-run businesses outweigh the disadvantages. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experiences or knowledge

Nowadays, the majority of the businesses that exist are handled by family members. There are many drawbacks of family-run businesses however benefits outweigh the negatives. This essay will provide some examples to support my notion. On one hand, businesses that are inherited by children or other relatives have a list of benefits. Firstly, families are more aware of the know-how of the business and it is better that the money remains within the family. Secondly, they understand the value of the business as their ancestors or forefathers worked really hard to build it from the scratch. For example, when a multi-national company is built by a father and later taken over by his sons who have seen their father working day and night to build a brand then the sons invest their time and money to grow the business. Moreover, family members have a long-term perspective as compared to non-family members because they need to retain the standard of business. Also, the cost of employees is reduced because a lot of task could be taken up by one or more members reducing the expense of giving a salary to an employee. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages like businesses handled by family members can sometimes even break relationships as there will be competition among relatives over the share of business and decision making. This might result in serious conflicts and sometimes may also be taken to the court. To conclude, a family-run business has some disadvantages but there are more benefits like the value of a business is considered and everybody works towards achieving one goal.