Some people think that strick punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Travelling across the city, whether to commute to work or just to get groceries, has become a real challenge due to the increasing traffic accidents occurring every day. Many think the only way to combat driving offences is with more severe punishments. Other sustain there are other ways to achieve safer streets. In this essay I will discuss both views and explain why I believe there are many other ways society can find to prevent traffic accidents from happening. Many people consider there are not enough penalties when it comes to driving offences, therefore these should be more hardly punished. It is well-known that road are becoming more dangerous, poor behaviour goes unnoticed and unpunished, which only contributes to more reckless drivers in our streets. If governments were to consider imprisonment as a tough measure, car owners would get highly discouraged to keep up with such behaviour. Offenders would not only get a police record but they would also have to survive the hazards of spending time in prison. However, other parts of society suggest that other more environmental-friendly measures can be taken in order to tacle the aforementioned problem. For instance, if the state invested a better-suited transportation network, people would not have the need to use their private transports, rapidly reducing the amount of cars on the streets and the chance of any car accident. In adittion, citizens would reach their intended destinations by public transportation, therefore contributing not only to society but also to the environment with a reduction of individual carbon emissions. I believe that traficc accidents happen not only because of the driver's fault but also because a fault on the system. This is what we should aim to fix. Punishment is not always the solution for our everyday problems. There are factors that both societies and individuals can action in order to increase road safety. Finding environmental solutions should be the first choice a government should look at.