In recent years, pressure on school and university students has been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Improvement in living standards has brought about more chances for people to get access to education. These days, school and university pupils are facing increasing pressure and they are forced to learn very hard from their early childhood. From my perspective, there are pros and cons associated with this trend. On the one hand, this phenomenon can be advantageous in various ways. Youngsters tend to absorb knowledge much more quickly and effectively than old people. Therefore, they should try their best to study and broaden their mind during this ideal period. If students do not spend time learning in their childhood, they may find learning difficult in their later life. For example, the best time for kids to learn a new language is in their 7's as they will memorise new vocabulary and grammatical structure easily. Moreover, having a good education is one of the main factors leading to a successful career. People need to be knowledgeable and highly qualified to have a well-paid job in this competitive world. On the other hand, forcing students to study too much may have various detrimental consequences on them. Firstly, pupils are likely to suffer from physical and mental health problems. Since they have to sit for lessons and homework all day, they do not have time for leisure and outdoor activities. As a result, being inactive and stressed will lead to diseases such as obesity, heart disease, and depression. Secondly, these pupils may lack interpersonal skills, which are important for their future. They may not know to socialize well or cooperate with others because they are focusing too much on their studies and paying little attention to society. However, most companies these days require employees to have not only good qualifications but also life skills. In conclusion, although increasing pressure on students has some benefits, I believe this phenomenon has its drawbacks. Students should try to balance their studies and their lives to lead a healthy lifestyle as well as acquire necessary abilities.