Some people believe that advertisements targeting children may have negative effects on them, and suggest banning such advertisements as a solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the liberalization (losing of restriction) of media, advertisements have been its primary source of revenue. Children, who are in their formative years (early stages 0-8), are more likely to be influenced by advertisements than their elder counterparts (peer/equivalent) and are regularly targeted by marketers. It is agreed that this has negative effects on children, thus, shall be banned. This will be proven by looking at how, these advertisements can ultimately make children defiant, (resistant) and play a part in distracting children from academic activities. To begin, when children are exposed to an advertisement for products that their parents can’t afford to provide for them, children often resort (fall back on) to defying (disobey) both, their parents, and society. For instance, it is a known fact that most children, who go on to become rebels (rise in opposition), had been deprived (lack of) of their wishes for items that they don’t even need, nor can afford, such as elegant toys and expensive mobile phones. This shows that advertisements for certain kinds of products can lead children to develop delinquent tendencies (offence /crime). Hence, promotional material that targets children has more than its fair share (reasonable amount) of disadvantages. In addition to this, a large number of flashy advertisements (animated web add) can subconsciously have a detrimental effect on a child’s academics. For instance, after being barraged (bombard) by an endless amount of advertisements in a short span of time, juveniles (youngster) can lose their ability to focus on a certain task for an extended period of time. Thus being exposed to such advertisements can take its toll (charge)on a child’s brain. After analyzing this, the demerits of advertisements targeting children are manifested (indicate/display). Following this look at how advertisements aimed at children can, undermine (weaken) their behavior, and hinder the achievement of their academic objectives, it is evident that these advertisements have adverse effects on children. Thus it is hoped that governments should muse (consider) upon banning such advertisements.